In what world do you go when you die? It's something that everyone has wondered. Well, we don't have an answer to this, but we do know what happens to your Facebook profile when you die. In the last few years, Facebook has taken the world by storm. It has made the world smaller and solidified itself as an essential tool for staying in touch with those you love, as well as those whom you have met briefly. People have made this virtual world a part of themselves and have accustomed to documenting every detail of their lives.
We are meant to originate, and exit from this world which is a is part of a vast living web of interconnection, but Facebook does not want to end your existence and has created some interesting options that make your profile live forever.
Read below to find out different steps of what you can do to your profile when the time comes.
It's always a big loss for the close ones of the deceased, but no one wants to slip up and say something to make the surviving family members feel even worse. On the other hand, Facebook has thought of a beautiful option to make the deceased live forever by memorialising his/her page so that people can express their feelings. Read till the end to know what memorialising an account looks like.
A memorialized Facebook account adds the word "Remembering" next to the person's name on their profile page. Content uploaded by the deceased user stays on Facebook, visible to those it was shared with. Once an account has been memorialized, it is completely secure and cannot be accessed or altered by anyone. The request can be filled out by a listed member who can become the legacy contact.
A legacy contact is a person on Facebook, either a friend or a family member, who you choose to look after your account if you die.
Also read: Facebook v/s Real life, Hilarious truth.
Your legacy contact will be able to delete your account or memorialize it. If the account is memorialized, the designated person will be able to write a pinned post, such as a final message or information about a memorial service.
Another way in which your account can be managed is to have it completely removed. To do so, you need to submit a request, and Facebook will process it as a special request for verification. This option will completely delete the timeline and all associated content from Facebook so that no one can view it. All pictures and posts originating from the profile in question will be removed.
If you don't want your account to be memorialised you can delete it by the following steps:
This is a unique and my favourite feature that you can opt for. The first and only application of its kind. If you want to express your feelings or give any message to your beloved ones. "If I Die" allows you to create a video, message or a text message which can be scheduled to be sent after your demise.
You may also read 24 Grandparents who know nothing about Facebook.
It is a third party application that can be added on Facebook. You can either schedule it yourself or your beloved one can schedule it after your death.
In order to schedule a message to be sent out after you die, you click on the "Leave a message" button, and it brings you to a screen, where you can leave and receive personal, public, and private messages from other application users after you or a loved one passes.
There is perhaps no greater grief than being parted from a loved one by death. Thanks to Facebook for creating these options and not letting the memories ever die.
That's all folks and don't forget to subscribe me.